Homemade Mozzarella, Tomato and Basil Pizza

So for NYE I decided to try making homemade pizza.  My husband and I have been saying we wanted to try it.  I’ve heard once you make your own you’ll never buy again!  I didn’t want the regular pepperoni so I went for mozzarella, tomato and basil.  Let me tell you how amazing it was!! The pictures don’t do it justice!

I bought the dough from Publix for about $2.  The mozzarella was also bought at Publix and I got a smaller pack for $4.  I used the fresh mozzarella not the shredded cheese packs.  I actually had some basil at home.  Next time I’ll leave out the pizza sauce because of the heartburn it causes this pregnant lady.  I didn’t use a recipe just decided to wing it!

image(4)image(5)image(6)image(7)

*Preheat your oven to 400

*Roll out your dough preferably on a pizza stone with parchment paper underneath (this will make taking the slices off easier)

*Add olive oil to dough – this is when you can add your pizza sauce also

*Cut up tomatoes and mix with olive oil (mine includes lots of herbs) – add to pizza

*Break up mozzarella in chunky pieces – add to pizza

*Wash basil and add to pizza

*Top with shredded parmesan cheese

*Cook for 18-20 minutes.  The tomatoes, mozzarella and basil don’t take long…so use your nose as a timer

*Let pizza cool for about 5 minutes before you try cutting it

*EAT!

Leave a Reply

